Legend

I worked at the Borders on State St in Chicago on the day they gave Roger Ebert a star in front of the Chicago Theatre. Afterwords I had a customer looking for a copy of Ann Patchett’s “Bel Canto”. It was this guy (standing in back right) Harold Ramis day He was talking about hoping to make the film. We spoke about the trials of casting an opera singer & hoping they could act or a famous actress & dubbing them believably as an opera singer  (Julia Roberts, Toni Collette vs Renee Fleming). He was funny & kind & interested in what I was saying & never once treated me like ‘just a clerk’. It felt like my opinion mattered. And that it mattered I had an opinion. Like I had a place & a voice in the film world. I hate hearing this. Too many of these last fews months from legends to gone too soon. He’s both. http://www.chicagotribune.com/entertainment/chi-harold-ramis-dead-20140224,0,2259309.story

~ by ShortFilmSunday on February 24, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
